An abducted 13-year-old British schoolboy has appealed directly to UK Prime Minister David Cameron to reunite him with his mother, The Guardian reports:

Adam Jones was separated from his British mother while visiting his dead father’s relatives in the Qatari capital Doha in October 2009. Since then the 13-year-old says he has been kept under virtual house arrest despite attempts by his mother, Rebecca Jones, to free him. Adam also claims he has been punched and kicked by family relatives. He says he is not allowed out alone, has no internet access and is unable to call his mother.

According to The Guardian, Prime Minister Cameron has written to his Qatari counterpart, Sheikh Hamad bin Jassim bin Jabr al-Thani, and the Arab state’s emir demanding the swift resolution of Adam’s case.  Cameron also pledged his continued support in a letter addressed directly to Adam:

I was very sorry to read that you are still separated from your mum. This must be very hard for you, but I want you to know that you are still in my thoughts. I will keep trying as hard as I can to help you, and I hope your family situation will change for the better very soon.

In a follow-up letter to Cameron, Adam expressed mounting despair:

It is nearly one year since I wrote to you asking for your help. I was so happy when you wrote back and told me you would do your best to help me get home. Did you forget about me? I want to go home now and I’m very sad and lonely.

Cameron’s handwritten response to Adam: “I promise I have not forgotten about you – and will keep trying to make some progress.”  Even Her Majesty, The Queen, has reportedly raised Adam’s case during a meeting with Sheikh al-Thani.  Thani states only that he’ll try “to find an amicable solution that preserves the rights of all parties involved.”

READ MORE: Boy abducted in Qatar sends ‘get me home’ plea to David Cameron, The Guardian (August 11, 2012).

