Gulnaz, a 19-year-old Afghan woman, faces the impossible “choice” between spending 12 years in prison or marrying the man who raped her:

“I do not know why they put me in jail,” Gulnaz said when NBC News recently visited her at the women’s prison in Kabul. Her daughter, Moskan, a result of the rape, lay sleeping on a bed nearby – she was born on the floor of Gulnaz’s prison cell. “I am obliged to marry him, even though I can’t look at him,” 19-year-old Gulnaz said about the man she claims raped her. 

A Los Angeles Times article today pointed out that treating rape victims as shameful to themselves and their families is a harmful cultural practice that has roots in the Western world, too.

READ MORE: I’ll marry rapist, ‘even though I can’t look at him’, MSNBC (December 7, 2011). Not just Afghan’s shame, Los Angeles Times (December 7, 2011).

